Diet

by Frank Martin

Diet has a more profound effect on our bodies than many of us realize. I know this was certainly the case with me until I started a serious study and practice of yoga. When I was in high school a friend and I would meet at McDonald’s every week to discuss Buddhist philosophy over Big Macs. These days, I’ve cut meat from my diet almost entirely. More than anything I know about it intellectually, I did this because of how eating it makes me feel. I spent most of last weekend in Portland, and had meat in two of three meals I ate down there. I felt sluggish, slept badly, and my stomach felt like I’d swallowed a bowling ball.

I say this because I believe we should base as much as possible on our own experience. In essence I’m pescetarian considering going vegan not because of something I read in a book, or because of animal cruelty issues, though I’m well aware of both. I eat the way I do because I know that I function better on this sort of diet. When I function better, I can write more meaningfully, teach more meaningfully, and practice more effectively. Intellectual knowledge is great, but knowing something is really pointless unless it has a direct impact on how you live your life.

