New Years Vows & Habits

by Frank Martin

A new year is upon us my friends, and we all know what that means: People making resolutions we’ll break in less than a week. But in all seriousness, if plans work out, I should be living quite differently at the end of the year. Check out below for my possibly overzealous (aren’t we all a little this time of year) plans.

My Three Vows:

1) To be compassionate towards all living beings.

2) To meditate for at least 2-5 minutes every day.

3) Eat Clean.

Commentary: I already eat pretty healthily, but this is taking things an extra step. This starts this month, today. My mom and I (she dragged me into this one, actually) are doing a smoothie cleanse today and going off sugar for the rest of the month. I already eat pretty close to a Clean diet except for sugar, so this shouldn’t be too much of a change, but we’ll see what happens.

Beyond those, I’m signing up for Leo Babauta’s Sea Change program (check it out here). I’ve been reading Leo’s work since I was in college, and tried his method solo a couple times. Things stuck but not really permanently, so it’ll be nice to have a bit more structure and support. In addition to the three vows above (which are to myself and the wider world, respectively), I’m also making a vow to all of you to be more active on here. Quite possibly my greatest regret from last year is letting myself get lazy and not blog, so I’ll be posting something every week. You can also check out my tumblog, where I reblog various spiritual and minimalist things and have started making short text posts most days. Its shaping up to be one amazing year, and I look forward to sharing it with all of you. Happy New Year everyone! May it be better than the last.

