my November goals

by Frank Martin

This past month has been, well, disorganized, as have been most months for way too long now. In an effort to get things a bit more focused and in order, I’m taking a page out of Catherine from the Blissful Mind’s playbook and setting three goals/habits to cultivate each month.

MY GOALS:

1. Put yoga front & center: This might seem odd to a lot of people, especially anyone who associates yoga with āsana, the physical exercises, but there’s a lot more to it than that. Classical or Ashtanga yoga has eight limbs or practices, and I’ve been neglecting most of them. As a yoga teacher, this should be the center of my life, but it really hasn’t been. This month I’m going to be changing that. Expect a post about the limbs of yoga later this month.

2. floss: I’ve never been very good at flossing, and my gums have definitely suffered for it. This month I’m making flossing more of a priority. I’ll be using Leo Babauta’s methodology, in this case, floss one tooth on the first day of the month, two on the second, three on the third, etc, and I’ll be doing it either in the shower or after when I brush my teeth.

3. Limit screen time: I spend WAY too much time in front of screens (don’t we all). I’m fortunate in that teaching yoga doesn’t really require much tech time, yet I still find ways to rot my brain. That’ll change this month as I’ll be limiting my tech time to a couple half hour chunks a day (totaling two hours or so). This will also mean I’ll hopefully be more focused and productive in terms of writing for this blog.

